Date Night

Last night my amazing husband got a couple sitters for the girls, Grace and Alissa, and took me out for a much needed date.  We have never been the type to do anything super fancy or crazy.  Our nights usually consist of dinner out, maybe a movie, sitting in Barnes and Noble with some coffee and a book, or even just walking the mall.  Anythingwhere-the-wild-things-are to get away just the two of us.  Last night we headed to King of Prussia as this time of year is Jake’s favorite time to hit the Cheesecake Factory.  From mid October to January they have a pumpkin pecan cheesecake that he absolutely loves.  So we had dinner and dessert, got an extra dessert to take home and a couple slices for Grace and Alissa.  I love the Cheesecake Factory and it’s probably a good thing it’s as far away from our house as it is or I would want to eat there more often.  After dinner we headed over to the IMAX theater and saw “Where the Wild Things Are.”  Great movie.  The kid was a phenomenal actor.  Loved the soundtrack, it’s on my list of downloads, and the graphics were amazing.  The creatures looked so real and I am going to be a nerd and say I can’t wait to watch the special feature of how it was made on the DVD.  We left the movie in the wind and cold and hit Nordstrom Rack.  If you don’t know what this store is, it’s like Nordstrom but they have all the “left over” products that Nordstrom couldn’t use and discount the prices.  I LOVE this store.  So my oh so amazing husband let me shop for a bit as I was in need of some winter clothes.  We were there until store closing and headed home to relieve the sitters and sugar them up with their cheesecake.  In my books it was a perfect way to spend my Friday night with my man. We don’t do it often but when we get the chance to it is like our own little retreat.

So I am interested in knowing what people’s favorite “date night” options are.  Give me some ideas to do something different next time and who knows, I might just do date night more often!

Leave a comment