Getting Colder

Fall PhotoIf you know me, you know I don’t like the cold, wet winters around here.  I had gotten very spoiled living in the desert 5 years and having warmer weather pretty much year round.  We have lived in Pennsylvania for 3 years now and we are going into our third winter.  I do not enjoy snow, I don’t like being cold and wet.  I fight it every year.  I even have a stuffy nose right now because I was wearing my flip flops until the last possible moment.  The last couple of days have been cold and rainy, which reminds me very much of Oregon(where I grew up).  So I decided, instead of complaining about the cold and the fact that winter is approaching faster than I would want, I will make a list of things that  I do like about this time of year.  It will be short but it’s what I do look forward to this time of year.

1. I love the girls in sweaters.  They are so stinkin’ cute all bundled up.

2. I love curling up and snuggling with Jake and the girls on the couch while watching movies.

3. I love the beauty of the leaves changing colors.  The reds, yellows and oranges are absolutely breath taking.

4. I Love the pumpkin spice lattes at Starbucks.  They make me feel warm and cozy.

5. I love that the “holiday creamers” come out.  Currently I have gingerbread latte and peppermint mocha creamer in my fridge.

6.  Thanksgiving, I get to eat all the yummy desserts I try not to eat the rest of the year.  My favorite, pretzel-jello deliciousness.

7. Christmas lights, I love seeing all the homes and decorations all lit up.  5th Avenue in NYC is the best!

8. Watching the girls enjoy the snow.  Notice I say watching.  Yes, I stay indoors where it’s warm and watch them play.

9.  Snow days.  The days when the roads are bad, we can’t get out to work or school and we get that extra day to be together.

10. The fact that it will pass and be spring again.  Hopefully sooner than later!

How about you, what are your favorite things about this time of year?

One response to “Getting Colder”

  1. ok..
    so let me tell you how wonderful i think this is. First of all, this is really late (and sorta random? hahah) but I LOVE WINTER!!! I guess growing up in PA makes me used to it, and it’s pretty much the most comfortable time of year for me. Absolutely LOVE it. Everything you love about it I would say I love as well, and reading this made me so HAPPY!!!! Christmas is in A MONTH! 😀

    I love Christmas.. music, candles, warmth. everything. love it.

Leave a comment